With names like Syrup, Urple and Skittles, how is it not supposed to appeal to kids?

Lil Wayne and \No one is saying it so I’m just going to go out and say it.  Maybe I’m oldschool but what ever happened to good old natural weed?

Pimp C, Big Moe, and DJ Screw are just a few rappers that died foolishly, yes I said it, foolishly. If I were to start a rapper death pool right now…Lil’ Wayne would be a safe bet, followed by Young Buck and [insert Southern rapper here]. Since it broke as news some months back that Lil’ Wayne is very obviously addicted to codeine enhanced prescription cough syrup (as well as perhaps other drugs, considering his camp has been found with cocaine, etc.) Wayne has been defensive, cocky and unappologetic at the accusations.

Now I’m not saying he needs to appologize to anyone…but he has admitted himself that perhaps the reason he’s so hard-headed is because he’s surrounded by Yes-men due to his enormous success in the music industry…and so “it’s gonna be hard to tell me I’m slippin'”, he admits.

As of 2004, 8.3% of Texas teens reported using cough syrup to get high. I can only imagine that the number has grown tremendously in recent years with the increased media attention this trend has gotten.

I remember once taking half a bottle of NyQuil when I was 15 because I was extremely sick. The result was I started to see little stars and felt mad sleepy…I had an awesome night’s rest and my cough all but dissappeared but I can only imagine the toll that continuous use would take on my body…oh that’s right…it would kill me!

Codeine Cough SyrupNow the active ingredient in NyQuil is Dextromethorphan or DXM…but it also has other active ingredients.  Generally speaking people make “syrup” by mixing a juice or soda with cough syrups containing DXM (and only DXM) or with prescription cough syrups containing Codeine and Promethazine.

Serious Sidenote: If you decide to get high never ever use products that have active ingredients other than DXM (even apparently harmless ones such as Acetaminophen) as high doses of these other ingredients can and will lead to severe heart problems and irreversible liver damage.  As a matter of fact high doses of DXM can also kill you.

A recent VIBE Magazine feature article touches on the topic of Syrup and asks Lil’ Wayne about his “addiction”.  He admitted he went to see a doctor because he couldn’t stop using it himself and the doctor ended up giving him pills that would help with withdrawal symptoms…pills Lil’ Wayne later threw away.  Lil’ Wayne’s solution?  He now let’s his entourage pour his syrup for him (so he doesn’t overdo it).  It’s good to know he’s got supportive friends. 

In the article Wayne goes on to talk like he has a deathwish, saying things like, “I wanna be a Bob Marley.  I wanna be a Tupac – their lives mean so much when they gone.  Fuck right here.  I wanna mean so much after I’m gone.” 

When Pimp C was found dead with a bottle of prescription cough syrup on the counter next to his bed it was reported that he actually had a prescription for the syrup and did not get it on the black market as many others do. Pimp C was obviously using syrup for years.  What I want to know is who the fuck is his doctor and why the Hell is he still practicing medicine?  As for Wayne and his delusions of martyrdom…ain’t shit glamorous about dying with Robitussin coming out your nose.

With all that said…who ever died from weed?  I mean…Ah fuck it, excuse me while I pour this purple drank.

12 Responses to “With names like Syrup, Urple and Skittles, how is it not supposed to appeal to kids?”

  1. STEPHEN Says:

    DXM IS A GOOD HEALTHY DRUG!
    EVERYONE SHOULD USE IT!

  2. football says : I absolutely agree with this !

  3. Well all I gotta say is syrup is my favorite everything and stop worring about wayne
    Wayne gonna do watever he wanna do
    Keep doing yahh thing wayne
    Sippin syrup til it ain’t no more

  4. purp gang capo Says:

    LIL WAYNE IS MAKEIN MILLIONS,THEY SAY MONEY DONT MAKE YOU HAPPY,I GUESS ITZ TRUE.SO HE IS DOIN WHATZ MAKE HIM HAPPY SO STEP THE FUC OFF AND LET THAT MAN DIE IN PEACE……….. TAKE A SIPP

  5. Thank you for this misleading information. I have never heard a single rapper talk about DXM. Also, the lethal dose of DXM is approximately 8-10 times the dose required to achieve a high. Do you know anyone that fuckin’ swallows ten bottles of Robitussin?

  6. Another Good write up, I will be sure to bookmark this post in my Diigo account. Have a great evening.

  7. heres the thing. why hate? some people where just born to do drugs. you all hate it because your scared of it. do you smoke cigarettes? do you drink alcohol? those are deadly substances that ruin lives every single day, but you didnt mention that did you? because they are legal. im sick of every one and their bull shit about lil wayne using dxm to get high. first off dxm is a really safe drug to use. in fact is the safest way to trip and the required amount to get you floored more than you will ever be isnt even remotely close to the amount necessary to od and die. this drug is very psychedelic. on this drug your inner most self is revealed to one person but yourself. and it opens a creative side you never thought you had. you think differently. you see differently. and msot of all you can get in touch with you most inner self and organize your head without going crazy. so whats it to you if lil wayne drinks a bottle of nyquil, or swallows 30 coricidin pills? its a great time. and no ones putting a gun to your head and forcing you to do it. and if your so worried your kids are doing it then maybe you need to pay more attention to your children and be a better fuckin parent. so dont go blambing lil wayne for destroying youth and all that bull shit. lil wayne your my fuckin idol bro and ill see you in heaven with a bottle of nyquil in my hand. to all of you haters out there. fuck you. if you dont like it dont pay attention to it. there is so much other shit in this world thats much more of a concern than people trippin off dxm. your just a pissed off person with no reason to be pissed off. go fuckin cure cancer, go save an animal, or perhaps adopt a child in need of a good home. dont waste you energy cutting someone down for something they do. instead why dont you better yourself and do some good in the world.

  8. yo yo yo!!! who ever is sipin on syrup aint non of ya’ll damn biznes.. let em nigaz sip on watever thy want,if thy die fuck it th world dnt gve a fck we gne gt a new rapper!!!!

  9. The coolest Says:

    It is good. DXM is good. But being addicted is not so I say if its for theraputic, medocinal, spiritual, or relogious use its perfectly OK. No matter wat u do with it its OK in my opinion as long as you are not relyong on it to be hi cuz u can be hi on life 4 free. I dont do shit like that but i wud and its only bad if ur addicted or if its ruining ur life. Lil Wayne is a pretty good rapper n its proly partly cuz he drinks that shit. Friends can be worse than drugs. Erything has good n bad. Jus cuz a few ppl died dont matter, ppl die riding bikes too. Duz that mean all bike riders are stupid? I think they are wierd because they wear spandex and make it hard for me to drivr but thats their bizzness n this sizzurp aint urs. U say they died foolishly? Ur foolish for assuming and shit like that. Ur uneducated and yeah. So anywaya, Bye.

    • That statement you just made is really stupid, to be honest. What he is taking is codeine, not DXM. DXM can be a very dangerous drug, it’s not one to be taken lightly. You must lack intelligence if a 15 year old like me is explaining simple things to you. DXM when taken a lot, causes many problems — like other drugs. Why would you even compare biking, which is a physical activity to DXM, which is a drug? I find it very humorous that you would call the writer of this article ‘foolish for assuming and shit like that.’ How is dying from taking lots of drugs not foolish? By the way, from what I hear lil wayne is addicted and it will eventually ruin his life if that is still the case.

  10. Because DXM and weed are drastically different highs. A half a bottle of NyQuil is about 60mg of DXM. When i got in the studio i strted using 700-960mg daily and was rappin the hardest i have my whole life. I eventually overdoesed bu now im fibe. I quit im stickin to weed now

  11. Why mess around with codeine when they can use more condensed forms like Tusionex,Hycodaine,just saying if you are going to have organs shut down Liver Kidneys Brain do it right.

Leave a comment